09:30am CDT, 04/19/14

PREVIEW -- Madison Mustangs vs. Chicago Mustangs

MSFL Championship Dope Sheet
By Eric Rogers
KENOSHA, Wis. — Neither Mustang team facing off in tonight’s MSFL Championship game has ever been there. Here are the key points heading into championship weekend.

What to Watch For – Madison
  • This is the 6th year in a row that Madison has appeared in a championship game (previous five were in Ironman Football League)
  • Madison has won six straight games, outscoring opponents 227-71
  • None of the 10 players selected to 2013 All-Star game played in Saturday’s game
What to Watch For – Chicago
  • In its fifth year of operation (first championship appearance)
  • Has won eight straight games, outscoring opponents 262-94 (includes forfeit wins)
  • DE Lorenzo Hood – 2012 Defensive Player of the Year
How They Got Here – Madison
  • Won Northwest Division title with 23-20 overtime win by Wauwatosa in week eight
  • Defeated Racine Threat 27-13 in Western Conference Semi-Final
  • Defeated Roscoe Rush 21-14 in Western Conference Championship
How They Got Here – Chicago
  • Won Northeast Division outright with 7-1 regular season record
  • Defeated Chicago Thunder 16-6 in Eastern Conference Semi-Final
  • Defeated Indiana Mustangs 62-13 in storm-delayed Eastern Conference Championship
If They Win – Madison
  • Would be 5th Semi-pro title in six seasons
  • Would join Force of Illinois, Chicago Thunder and Roscoe Rush as only teams to win MSFL Championship in inaugural year
If They Win – Chicago
  • Would be 1st semi-pro title in franchise history
Kickoff for the 14th annual MSFL Championship game will be at 7:00 p.m. from Indian Trail Academy in Kenosha.

Filed Under :  
Topics : Sports
Social :
Locations : ChicagoIllinoisKenoshaPreview
People : Eric RogersLorenzo HoodRoscoe RushThunder
A   A   A

Report: 49ers not expected to pick up Aldon Smith's 5th-year option

May 3 is the deadline for picking up fifth-year options for players taken in the first round of the 2011 NFL Draft. Aldon Smith is a curious case for the 49ers but they reportedly won't pick up his option.